3 Quick Tips for CILIP Revalidation by Eva Thackeray

Having recently gone through the process of revalidating my Chartership, I thought I’d share three tips, things that worked well for me or that I will be doing differently in future and that might just help you. So this is for all of you out there currently working on your portfolios! Good luck.

  1. Attend a revalidation workshop

If you’ve not revalidated before, attend a workshop. This will help enormously in getting you started, especially if you’ve been putting it off like me. It made me focus on pulling my CPD together and start thinking about my statement. Whilst I wasn’t as quick as some of my fellow workshop attendees (who submitted their portfolio at the end of the session!), I came away with a clear idea of what I needed to do to finish.

  1. Regularly record your CPD on the VLE

This isn’t rocket science and has probably been said many times before, but if you record your CPD on the VLE regularly throughout the year, you will find the whole process of revalidation much easier. I didn’t do this, and so it took me a long time to go back and dig out all the details of my CPD activities. So from now on, once a month, I will record my CPD on the VLE. Then I will only have to write my statement when it comes to revalidation time again!

  1. Tag your CPD with the relevant assessment criteria

I found it useful to tag my CPD entries with the Chartership criteria, as you will need to address those in your statement (e.g. for Chartership: personal performance, organisational context and the wider professional context). That way, I could quickly gather together the CPD entries relating to each of the criteria. I could also see how evenly balanced my CPD was (tags used frequently appear bigger in the tag cloud than those used infrequently). I hope this will help me plan my CPD in future, too, as during my monthly CPD update on the VLE I’ll be able to see and address an imbalance before it comes to writing my statement.

Eva Thackeray
Assistant Clinical Librarian
Library and Information Service
Royal Preston Hospital

 

This entry was posted in Top Tips and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

